Winter Vibes

October 27th, 2016. The first “snowfall” of the year at Syracuse University.

I have heard countless stories on Syracuse winters starting months before I even got to campus. Whenever I told someone that I was attending here they would always follow it up with a warning “Oh, good luck in the snow!” Buying warm boots and coats have only physically prepared me for this, despite being from Boston.

The scariest part of the snow today was the fact that lingered in the back of my mind: once it starts it doesn’t stop until April.

The positives to this event are that 1. the snow is pretty and 2. we weren’t the only school that received snow today. Through social media, I determined that it also snowed at the University of Rhode Island, University of Massachusetts Amherst and University of Connecticut. This reassured me that Syracuse isn’t actually Antartica, against popular opinion.

The fact that I was able to have an inside source on other university’s weather, right as it happened (the snow only lasted for an hour or so) emphasizes the power of social media, especially formats that are mostly visual. Pictures are great ways for communication and are becoming more and more popular to use.

(p.s. my friend’s swear a lot)

Leave a Reply

